Maysa's Blog

Our journey through plagiocephaly and brachycephaly

Week 13 in DOC band 2

Posted by mymaysa on April 27, 2009

Maysa went in for another adjustment today.  Amber saw us and was accompanied by a colleague from the Connecticut Office.  Of course, I can’t remember her name.  I am so bad with names…  We briefly talked about Tim’s report and how neat it was looking at things from a different perspective.  She asked me how happy I was about Maysa’s progress.  I told her that I WAS happy.  After the disappointing results we got from Eastern Cranial Affiliates, and the actual improvement in Maysa’s headshape since the DOC bands, I HAVE to be happy.

I thought long and hard about asking Amber once again about shaving the band on the back right side, but after looking at Maysa’s head from every possible angle I truly can’t see the “5mm” plagio that’s still left.  If I can’t see it while knowing what I am looking for, then nobody else out there will either, unless it’s an extremely observant plagio parent or a orthotist.  I think that a lot of it has to do with the fact that her head is no longer flat in the back.  It is now round.  It has a curve that hasn’t been there since she was about 6 weeks old.  Amber gave Maysa a little more room in the band by shaving a little more off of it.  I believe that she only shaved the middle back right side of it but I am not sure.

Also, looking at one of the top view pictures on Tim’s report, I was able to overlay it on the scan from Orthomerica and draw the two diagonal lines.  I came up with the same 5mm diagonal difference, however, her Cephalic Index was much lower.  There were two top view pictures of Maysa’s head on the report.  One was similar to a top view picture I would take of her in the tub with her hair all wet, and the other one was a slice top view of it similar to the one that I obtained from Orthomerica.  In the first top view picture, the worse Cephalic Index I could come up with after several measurements was 87.5%.  In the slice view, the worse Cephalic Index I came up with was 91.25%.  This is much lower that the 93% I was given in April.  So I went back to the graphs from Orthomerica, took a cm ruler and measured the CI of the last three reports I got from them.  Here are their measurements and mine:

October 2008 CI:
– Orthomerica -> 98.3%
– My measurements -> 98%

January 2009 CI:
– Orthomerica -> 93.3%
– My measurements -> 92.5%

April 2009 CI:
– Orthomerica -> 93%
– My measurements -> 91.7%

Really, all I did was take a cm ruler and measure the length and width lines on the graph from Orthomerica to obtain the CI.  Have you STARband people tried that before?  I know that it’s completely silly to be competing with computer technology, but I felt so good being able to measure her CI at 91.7% by measuring her graph.  It is also closer to the 91.25% I measured on the picture from Tim’s report from Cranial Tech.  I’ll add to that that this is really what I feel her CI is at this point: around the 91% mark.

Also, we have one more adjustment left scheduled for May 11th.  In four weeks we have our exit appointment.  It will be right around Memorial day weekend, a day to remember.

One Response to “Week 13 in DOC band 2”

  1. Jessica said

    My son is 5 months and I am justing looking into getting him a band. Would you recommend the Doc band in VA or STARband in MD?
    We already have an appointment at Cranial Tech but, if I don’t have to go to VA I rather not.

    Thanks for your help. Jessica

Leave a comment