Maysa's Blog

Our journey through plagiocephaly and brachycephaly

18 months old today!

Posted by mymaysa on July 15, 2009

I took Maysa to her 18 months check up this morning.  She was as happy as happy can be until the shots that is.  It looks like she is doing great.  Her ped didn’t mention one thing about her plagio/brachy and neither did I.  Instead we focused on what we call her “stress moves”.  In a much earlier post, I had written about how Maysa gets tense, crosses her legs at the ankle, brings her arms close to her chest, and gets stiff.  She also breathes hard when she does that.  If you let her, she’ll do it for 15 minutes or more.  I don’t really know as we usually get her out of it after a few minutes.  It concerns me quite a bit.  She has been acting like this since she was about 4 months old.  While there are times when we think it’s a thing of the past, it always seems to come back.  The ped gave us a referral for an EEG.  She wants to rule out the possibility that she is having seizures…

On the charts, she is between 98 and 99% for her head, height and weight measurements.  We were told to cut down on the milk and the portions of food!  That might be hard.

Not much else besides this picture below and the fact that I am enjoying my time off with her very very much!

maysa_18_months_old

2 Responses to “18 months old today!”

  1. Mireya Leon said

    Hi my name is Mireya. I’m a Hispanic mother of a 9 months boy with braquicefalia and plagiocefalia. I love Maysa’s blog and I pray every night that my son get at least the correction she got. I need to ask some question to her mom. Please how can I communicate with you. I suffering a lot.

  2. mymaysa said

    Give me your email address and I’ll write back.

Leave a Reply

 
